Bubble tea originated from Taiwan in the heady days of the 1980s. Traditionally, it’s a type of milk tea with tapioca pearls (or boba) which has evolved over time into a dazzling array of flavours and textures.
Yes – our drinks do contain sugar, as do some of the toppings. We’re happy to make recommendations on drinks and toppings to suit your dietary needs. Feel free to tell our friendly Barista that you’d like half or zero sugar/sweetness level, and they’d be happy to help!
When ordering, we’ll always ask you whether you like your drink hot or cold, what size you’d like, and what toppings you want added. Please let us know if you’d like to request any non-dairy milks. If you have any dietary/allergy requirements, please also let us know.
Tapioca pearls or boba are the quintessential bubble tea topping. Tapioca is a starch from the Cassava Root, which gets rolled into round balls of varying size. These are boiled (much like pasta!) and sweetened before they are served. We cook ours fresh everyday, and sweeten with dark brown sugar for a more complex sweet taste.
In short, yes! All our drinks and toppings are vegetarian. And around 95% of our menu is vegan friendly or can be made to be vegan. All our toppings are vegan, except for our Caramel Pudding (contains dairy). Our fruit jellies are made with coconut water and contain no gelatine. Our milk drinks can be made with Oat Milk. And the list keeps growing!
Yes almost all our drinks can be made hot, there are some exceptions though. Feel free to ask our team members when you visit.